Wolf Dietrich Storl supports Cheyenne language preservation

08/02/2014 23:58

Wolf Dietrich Storl, a noted German anthropologist interested in shamanism, ethnobotany, and herbal medicine of traditional societies, had cooperated with Cheyenne consultants some time ago and they became his friends. He supports any effort to keep the Cheyenne language alive. He has written us:

Every language is a window to the universe, an unique and special way of looking at the world. When a language disappears a window is closed and we are all poorer. With all my heart I wish for a project for keeping the cheyenne language alive. When I was out for learning with the medicine men Bill Tallbull and George Elkshoulder the two of them always talked Tsitsistas. Elkshoulder talked seldom English on purpose so many people thought he didn't know English. Yet, that was not the case. I am thankful to the two men, especially Bill Tallbull, for my knowledge about plants and my access to medicine plants, which they gave me.
 
Four years ago, my son Ingo filmed  at the Montana Herb Gathering, where I had the honour to meet Linwood Tallbull, the son of my old friend Bill Tallbull. He is also a healer and herbal shaman. Ingo has a film where I talk to Linwood and where Linwood gives an explanation in Cheyenne. If you want, you could put this film on your homepage.

I wish you success with the project and maheo's blessing.

Wolf Dieter Storl